Chakra Quick Reference Guide

Our Energy System

We are energetic beings, I don’t mean the jump up and down kind of energetic, I mean pure physical energy.  Our bodies are not just what you see with the naked eye, they are composed of magnetic fields of energy as well as the physical body.

Some people are trained auric readers, they can see the colours of your aura and notice blocks or holes in the outer layers.  A perfectly aligned and balanced aura is the ideal.  Once you know more about these invisible fields of energy that connect you directly to the Divine you can achieve harmony and balance. 

The Aura

Firstly, let us look at the aura.  It is an invisible, colourful and multi-dimensional energy field that surrounds every living thing.  It’s made up of 7 layers outside of the physical body and each layer/body is connected to a Chakra. 

1Etheric BodyPhysical IllnessRoot Chakra
2Emotional BodyEmotional blocksSacral Chakra
3Mental bodyThoughts & beliefsSolar Plexus
4Astral BodyPure Love – the connector between the lower physical & higher spiritual vibrationsHeart Chakra
5The Etheric TemplateHolds our blueprint – manifests from ether into physicalThroat Chakra
6Celestial BodyPerception & Intuition3rd Eye
7Ketheric TemplateOur connection to the Divine EnergyCrown Chakra

The Chakras

Secondly, we have the chakras.  I like to think of them as the 7 power houses.  The word chakra itself comes from an old Hindu word that means ‘wheel’ or ‘turning’, it’s easier to understand if we take this literally to mean a vortex or whirlpool. 

They are vibrational spinning wheels of energy; taking energy from the Divine Source into the Etheric Body.    All the chakras are interwoven with each other and they correspond with a certain colour and organ or gland in the body.    They run centrally up the body from the base of the spine to the crown, spinning and drawing in Divine Energy to balance the mind, body and spirit. 

This illustration details their positioning and I have detailed each of them so that you can see the roles that they play in achieving harmony.  If a chakra becomes blocked or out of balance due to an emotional shock or trauma we can rebalance with music, colour or crystals.

Base Chakra or Root Chakra – Colour Red

This chakra is located at the base of the spine.   Here we find our fight or flight response, our instinct to survive.  It is what roots us to this earth, our ancestry, our history, our family, our start in life.  The Root chakra is linked straight into the Sacral Chakra.   It’s also connected to our Adrenal glands.

The Sacral Chakra – Colour Orange

The Sacral Chakra is where we house our one to one relationships.   It’s associated with the internal reproductive organs and controls our water elements; blood, lymph, tears and bodily fluids. Unsurprisingly our sexual energy is located here and our sense of fun. It links straight into the Solar Plexus.

The Solar Plexus – colour Yellow

This is where our personal power, ego and self-worth lives.   If we have had a series of destructive relationships (affecting our Sacral Chakra) we can very often find blocks here.  This will usually manifest in digestive issues.  It corresponds to the pancreas and outer adrenal glands.

The Heart Chakra – colour green

This chakra is just to the right of our actual heart and looks after the lungs and blood pressure.  It is also linked to the thymus gland which helps the immune system. 

The Throat Chakra – colour blue

Here you find our voice, our ability to express ourselves vocally and communicate our wants and desires.  It is linked to the thyroid gland which produces the hormone that controls our metabolic rate.

The Third Eye – colour Indigo

The Third Eye is connected to the pineal gland which governs light.  The pineal gland actually controls our sleeping instincts.   Here you will also find our intuition or ESP, our psychic senses.

The Crown Chakra – colour violet or white

This is as the name suggests on the crown of the head.  It’s linked to the pituitary gland which produces a hormone that controls the whole endocrine system.  The Crown Chakra is our direct connection to the Divine Source.

Fixing Blocks or Imbalances

One of the quickest ways of detecting a blockage or imbalance is to use a pendulum.  If any issues are detected OR you genuinely resonate with the following issues you could use a tune up.

Root or BaseFeelings of crippling fear or insecurities. Ask yourself if you are living in fear. 
SacralUnable to trust people or one to one relationships. 
Solar PlexusFeelings of low self-esteem, feeling unworthy and undeserving of the blessings in life
HeartFeeling isolated and cut off from the world.  Unloved and unable to love.  Feel like you can’t breathe
ThroatUnable to speak up for yourself and communicate effectively.  Sore throats live here. 
3rd EyeFeel like you just cannot think straight.  Your thoughts are running wild and you are unable to process them effectively
CrownUnable to find any purpose in life.  Depression and confusion. 

You can heal the chakras by working with the appropriate colour or coloured crystals relating to the chakra.  The chakras also respond well to sound.  They also respond well to singing bowls as each chakra resonates with a certain sound.  

As you can see everything is interconnected with the Divine Energy.  We will have a much happier and peaceful life if we can achieve balance and harmony and the Chakras are a very good place to start.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *